Watson Workspace will no longer be available after February 28, 2019. Learn more.

Ideas

Remove DM chats

Not planned

Comments

8 comments

  • Avatar
    Ami Dewar

    Yes, we've heard this feedback before, definitely something we are considering.  

  • Avatar
    Karen Hooper

    Perhaps also "hide"

  • Avatar
    Daniel Lieber

    Having the ability to hide/remove an individual message or thread is very much a double-edged sword. There needs to be the ability to have a reconstructed DM conversation as the context for conversations is otherwise too easy spoofed. I think being able to hide messages and somehow showing there is a section hidden makes sense. If the entire conversation with a person is hidden, then the notification isn't necessary until a new DM thread starts with that person.

  • Avatar
    Karen Hooper (Edited )

    @Daniel, good points.  An example of why I want to be able to delete is this - I started a conversation with an IBMer as he was India based and calling on the phone can be hit and miss.  He didn't respond on WW and we ended up talking and I asked him if he used WW and he said no and never will, therefore I have a started conversation with someone that will never go any further so I'd like to delete the conversation (available in Skype).  

    Another option to hiding could be similar to IBM Connections with Activities that you can "tune out".  

    Basically, I can be having key conversations with certain people, I only have so much real estate on my screens especially with devices so I'd like a way to prioritise conversations that I need to keep driving. 

  • Avatar
    Shreya MATHUR

    If there's a way to keep the chat stored in the backend, then it would be ideal if I could remove a DM chat from my screen when I'm done. Then, if I need to chat with that person again, I start a new DM where the old chat history just shows up. Is this possible?

  • Avatar
    Scott Good

    I agree we need to be able to get some of the DM chats off the screen--through whatever mechanism. Right now, I have several no-longer-IBMers on my list of DMs. I can't chat with them--in fact, the system recognizes that because they are grayed out--but I also can't remove them from the list.

  • Avatar
    Pat Lyons

    I went to add a user for a DM and accidentally added the wrong person (several times).  This is another example of why we need to be able to delete these.  I vote for getting this done soon!

  • Avatar
    Ami Dewar

    When you add the wrong user, even though it sticks up in the list (until you refresh), that DM doesn't hang around unless you actually send a message to that wrong user.  

Please sign in to leave a comment.