Who can use this feature?
Looking for a little face time with your colleagues? With Watson Workspace, it's easy to start a video or audio meeting with screen sharing capabilities right from your space. Here's how it works.
Note: Video and audio meetings are currently only available from the Mac and Windows Desktop Apps. However you will always have awareness of in progress videos meetings from anywhere in Watson Workspace. Support for our mobile apps is coming very soon.
Starting a meeting
Only a Plus user can start a meeting, here's how.
- Tap the video icon in the top right corner of your Watson Workspace desktop client from any space.
- Your meeting will start right away in a new window. The video icon will turn blue, and will stay blue as long as you are in the meeting.
- Choose your audio - you can do this via the pop-up
or in the video window
- All space members will be alerted that a meeting has started with system text in the conversation. In the Spaces list, any space with an active meeting in progress will also have a video icon on space avatar.
- By default, your video will not show, but you can easily turn it on using the video controls in the meeting.
The meeting will continue until the last person has left the meeting and then it will automatically end.
Note: You can only be in one meeting at a time, if you try to join another meeting you will be prompted to switch meetings.
Joining a meeting
You can tell that a meeting is in progress two ways:
- System text in the conversation indicating when someone started a meeting and other space members have joined.
- A blue dot beside the video icon in the top right corner of your Windows desktop client
Anyone can join a meeting that is in progress. Here's how to join a meeting:
- Tap the video icon in the top right corner of your Watson Workspace desktop client. Your meeting will start right away in a new window.
- The video icon will turn blue, and will stay blue for as long as you are in the meeting.
- By default, your video will not show, you can easily turn it on using the video controls.
- You can join the meeting audio using VoIP (your computer audio) or calling in via the toll-based audio bridge.
The meeting will last as long as someone is in the meeting, however, if all Plus users leave the meeting, a 5 minute timer will start and the meeting will end once the 5 minutes has expired, unless another Plus user joins the meeting.
A meeting can have 25, 50 or 200 people. The max number of participants allowed is based on the subscription level of the user that started the meeting. For example:
- If you have the Plus offering for 50 users, and you start the meeting, then up to 50 participants can join the meeting. Others will see that a meeting is in progress but will see a message informing them the meeting has reached capacity.
Note: If a user that has Plus offering for 200 users joins the meeting, they will be able to upgrade the meeting to allow for 200 participants, doing so will restart the meeting.
Understanding the controls
While you are in a meeting, you can:
- Turn your video on and off
- Turn your audio on and off
- Switch your audio
- Mute your audio
- Share your screen
- See the list of meeting participants
Leaving a meeting
You can leave a meeting at any time. Simply tap the video icon in the top right corner of the space to leave the meeting.
You can only be in one meeting at a time, so if you try to join another meeting while you are already in a meeting, you will be prompted to switch meetings. Switching meetings will remove you from the meeting you are in and join you to the new meeting. If you select "Cancel" you will remain in your current meeting.
Note: Changing spaces does not cause you to leave the meeting or remove you from the meeting. You can navigate to other spaces, send messages and continue collaborating with anyone while you are participating in a meeting.
Ending a meeting
Meetings end automatically when the last person has left the meeting, even if you are the person that started the meeting and you leave the meeting, the meeting will continue until everyone else has left.